Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
Quantity:
Subtotal
Taxes
Shipping
Total
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Testimonials

Rating: 4.8 out of 5 from 30 Customer Reviews

Blackstone Renovations Inc. began operations in 2001 and has received 30 reviews for an overall customer rating of 4.8 out of 5. The average rating for TrustedPros.ca businesses providing similar services in the Calgary area is 4.1 out of 5.

Overall Rating Summary


Quality of Work: 4.9 out of 5

Timeliness: 4.7 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4.9 out of 5

Budget: 4.7 out of 5

Communication: 4.9 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Rating Distribution


Excellent: 28

Very Good: 2

Average: 0

Poor: 0

Terrible: 0

THANK YOU

to all our valued clients!

Rating: 5​ out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Dawn from Calgary

Posted: Apr 08, 2021

Elevator Installation to Two-Story Home

We hired Blackstone Renovations to perform a major elevator addition to our 2-storey home. They installed an elevator vestibule from the basement to the second level on the exterior of our home with interior access in the basement, kitchen and master bedroom. They did an exceptional job of matching it to the existing exterior house finishes. Most people comment that the addition looks like it was always there. From dealing with the Architect to City Planners and sourcing new and creative ideas for supplies & suppliers, Paul, Darrel and the Blackstone Crew were truly a god send. Not having planned for such a renovation, we all felt and appreciated the good hands we were in every day during construction. Every detail was carefully planned and completed on time, even in the middle of a pandemic! As other reviewers have previously mentioned, you can see that this family owned business treats their employee’s as part of that family and we are sincerely going to miss having them around every day. The eye to detail, excellent craftsmanship and thorough follow-up would lead us to recommend Blackstone to anyone - hands down.

Rating: 5​ out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Chris from Calgary

Posted: Jan 29, 2021

Home Renovation

We purchased a home that Blackstone had just completely renovated. We looked at in excess of 50 homes that had been recently renovated in more established neighbourhoods and the renovation completed by Blackstone was head and shoulders above any others that we saw. Once purchased, Paul and his team were quick to respond to any questions we had and walk us through the features of the home that we weren’t fully familiar with, like the boiler system. We appreciate the work Blackstone completed and wouldn’t hesitate to refer them to anyone else looking for a home renovation.

Rating: 4.8​ out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 4 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Kareen from Calgary

Posted: Jan 06, 2021

Complete Home Renovation Inside and Outside

Blackstone was by far the best renovators we have worked with. Paul and his crew were outstanding. We gave him an almost impossible timeline and he achieved what we originally asked him to do and then some. The attention to detail was greatly appreciated. The end result is a more beautiful home than we anticipated. We would definitely work with them again and will recommend them to anyone else that needs a renovation.

Rating: 5​ out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Scott from Calgary

Posted: Dec 29, 2020

New Mudroom, Foyer Closet, Ensuite Bathtub, Misc other items

Paul & his crew did a great job working on our home upgrades. They adapted to surprises as we "opened things up" in our 40-yr old home and had some great ideas for some custom work, like sound deadening the loud upstairs bathtub filling noise we'd hear from downstairs (using special acoustic insulation). They kept non-work areas well protected & cleaned up very nicely each day. They had no problem handling issues like having to re-route some drain pipes in unexpected locations or wiring. As we discovered other upgrades along the way they were able to handle all those items. They provided us with a detailed breakdown of items and costs. Paul kept in touch with progress updates so we always knew what was going on and what was next. I would recommend Blackstone for your home improvement projects!

Rating: 5​ out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Danielle from Calgary

Posted: Dec 29, 2020

Elevator Installation for Wheelchair Accessibility to our Bungalow

Blackstone is the best renovation company to go with hands down! I wanted to punch holes in my wall so that Blackstone couldn’t leave! They installed a 3 stop elevator in our bungalow with the end result better than we thought. They went above and beyond with their service, assisted me with every single thing I asked of them and their workmanship was better than I could have expected. They were respectful, professional and the cleanest contractors I have ever dealt with. They made sure that every day their equipment was tidied up and even made sure to let my cat out of the bedroom before they left! All of the guys (and girls!) on their team were great to deal with and represented Blackstone perfectly. You can see that this family owned business treats their employee’s as part of that family and I am sincerely going to miss having them around every day.

Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 4 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Mario from Calgary

Posted: Dec 30, 2019

Complete Building Renovation

Hiring Blackstone Renovations to do our massive demolish and rebuild was the best decision Little Learners Preschool could have made. Working with very tight timelines, Blackstone came through on time and on budget with excellent craftsmanship. Their professionalism and honesty has made them a great company to work with.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Quality of Work: 4 out of 5

Timeliness: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4 out of 5

Budget: 4 out of 5

Communication: 4 out of 5

Courteous: 4 out of 5

Jeff from Calgary

Posted: Dec 30, 2019

Various Small Home Renovation Tasks

Blackstone re-painted the entire interior of my house, had extra insulation blown in the attic, installed a tile backsplash and new sink in the kitchen, had electrial work done in the furnace room, and installed 2 new exterior doors. Work from the Blackstone team and their subs was all top quality, house was left clean every time, and are a trustworthy crew.

Rating: 4.3 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 2 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4 out of 5

Budget: 4 out of 5

Communication: 4 out of 5

Courteous: 4 out of 5

Vaughn from Calgary

Posted: Dec 30, 2019

Garage Renovation

Added heater, sheeted garage and installed gas line. Excellent service.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 4 out of 5

Timeliness: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 4 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Steve from Calgary

Posted: Dec 29, 2019

Garage Cabinets, Floor to Ceiling

Paul showed up, measured everything, drew up some options, and then met to review whether needs were met. Came up with great idea for keeping cabinets off the floor to avoid water damage. A few on the fly modifications were necessary, but everything came together as planned. Very happy with the work. Job site was cleaned up when the project was finished. No problem recommending Blackstone to anyone looking for a hands on contractor.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Leonard from Calgary

Posted: Sep 29, 2019

Installation of Elevator Shaft in My 39 Year-Old Condo

I hired blackstone renovations to perform a major renovation on my 2-storey condo. They built an elevator enclosure from the basement tothe second floor with entrances in the basement, the garage, the living room and the upstairs office. The job was carefully planned and completed (5 weeks) on time and on budget. Paul kowalenko paid close attention to detail and finishing. His workmen have been with him many years and have excellent skills. I am very pleased with the result and would highly recommend his company.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Su-Ann from Calgary

Posted: Sep 24, 2019

Total Renovation

Paul was absolutely amazing! He had great ideas to maximize the space I had, and not only was he able to design what I wanted, he BUILT what he designed. He is very professional, and hears what the customer wants. He is able to come up with great ideas and options that are both functional and look great. I LOVE what he's done in my home - I have a whole new home. Plus. He went to bat fighting for replacement flooring when the installed flooring I chose turned out to be faulty. He spent a lot of his own time fighting on my behalf to get the flooring replaced. Overall it was a very positive experience and I LOVE the outcome!

Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 4 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Gary from Chestermere

Posted: Jun 26, 2018

Renovated Two Bathrooms

The work completed was both efficient and extremely well done. The workers were all courteous and well mannered and treated us to the kindest and cleanest renovation possible. From the first day, when they made sure that the house would stay clean (by placing tarps and taping the work areas) to the final day when everything was cleaned we found the team to be very efficient. The work completed also included some structural work that had to be repaired due to the builder making mistakes. That was explained and repaired very well. The renovation itself was better than we had hoped for and we are enjoying the new bathrooms very much.

Rating: 4.7 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Nicholas from Calgary

Posted: Feb 06, 2017

Installation of Steel Beam in Basement to Replace Wood Beam and Telepost

Paul came in and quickly and expertly assessed the job. The crew came in on time, did the work and dealt with some minor issues with the central vacuum routing without blinking and eye. Work passed my inspection and the city of Calgary's inspection without any issues. Great work, done quickly and on time and below budget.

I would recommend this company to anyone looking for similar work.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Chris from Calgary

Posted: Nov 24, 2016

Garage Insulation & Drywall

Blackstone provided excellent service and a quality installation of insulation, poly, drywall, mudding and taping for my detached garage. They scheduled a time with me to do a complete walkthrough of the garage taking measurements, asking questions and highlighting things I didn't even think about. For instance they pointed out that the one side of my garage that was already dry walled didn't have insulation behind it. They also recommended that I use some left over drywall sheets I had off to the side to save on cost. They provided a detailed breakdown of labour and materials within their quote along with a small management fee to oversee the work, everything was up front, no hidden costs. Their prices on labour and materials were very good, even with the small management fee.

Communication was the best I've ever experienced working with other trades and suppliers. They responded quickly via phone calls, emails and text messages anytime I had a question. They follow a professional change management process using change request documents. This worked really well when I decided I wanted to add mudding and taping after I had signed the original scope of work. I always felt that both parties (Myself and Blackstone) knew exactly what was in scope and what the end cost would be. They also took pictures of their work at each stage of the project, which I can now reference in the future in case I want to see where the wiring, venting and other details are behind the drywall.

I could go on and on but the bottom line is there are lots of contractors out there, some are great at quality but lack the management and communication and others are just not good at all. If you want a company that delivers great quality and provides excellent customer service then these are the guys for the job.

Rating: 4.7 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 4 out of 5

Budget: 4 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Doug from Calgary

Posted: Apr 16, 2016

Home Demolition and New Construction

I used Trusted Pros to get some quotes on the job I wanted done. Blackstone met with me right away and figured out what I needed to do the job. They explained the costs in the quotes and what all would be involved. They did the job when they said it would and I paid them what they quoted. I would use them again and also recommend them.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Roland from Calgary

Posted: Apr 14, 2016

The Building of an R.V. Pad and a Complimentary Environmentally Attractive Storage Entrance

The service provided by Blackstone Renovations was done in a timely and professional manner. At all times, they demonstrated respect for the governing by-laws of the city of Calgary and went beyond the "call of duty" in the securing of a very difficult fence post placement and its adjoining gate entrance.

What makes Blackstone Renovations so unique is the manner of engagement by their owner representative. Paul is a very social person, someone who remembers the names of people and addresses them as such. He loves to talk with customers and one is left with the impression that he wants to learn as much about you as a person as possible. Why? Because , he just likes people and he is a very honest person to deal with.

Most important to me is Blackstone's follow-up and readiness to correct any resultant problems that may be associated with their work. They are prompt in this regard and corrections are made without question and/or additional cost.

Rating: 4.7 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 4 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Jan from Calgary

Posted: Apr 14, 2016

2 Story Addition (basement and main floor)

Excellent work on adding a new addition to a 100 year old house. A number of plumbing, electrical, structure and insulation issues also addressed. All the work was thorough, extremely well done and blends in beautifully with the original house. Paul worked with us to find the most cost effective solutions and was able to provide options for us to choose. Invoices are detailed and what you pay up front, during construction and at the end is worked out ahead of time. Small team so you have to wait at times for a call back or to fit in smaller projects. However the advantage of the small team is that all the crew are wonderful to work with - knowledgeable, respectful of your home and really take pride in their work. Subcontractors (eg. electrical and plumbing) they use are also excellent, fully licensed and work with the team on a regular basis.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Judy from Calgary

Posted: Apr 13, 2016

Kitchen and Front Entrane Reno

Paul and his team reno'd our 25 yr old family home, gutting the entire kitchen/traditional dining area and front entrance. The team came up with a creative, 'out of the box' solution to increasing the size of our front entrance while maximizing the kitchen space and ending up with something we hadn't envisioned and we just love the space!

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Robert from Calgary

Posted: Apr 04, 2016

Nearly a Complete Renovation of Our Home

My wife and I loved our old home. It had really good "bones', was in a great neighbourhood and lots of amazing potential. But it was 'tired'. We were empty nesters and wanted to travel...lots. But we had a large family (6 kids) and we still wanted to be home for Christmas, Easter, etc. and we wanted to have our kids and (hopefully) grandkids come back and visit such that we could get everybody under one roof.

So our plan was really simple. Update our home with major renovations such that it would add value, make it truly contemporary by using the already great features (such as the incredible woodwork) and not waste money by doing things that were adding very little, but costing lots. An example, moving the kitchen sink and new cupboards, which would have meant re-doing the granite counters, and likely the ceramic flooring, Instead, new cabinet fronts and re-designed mouldings. We liked to call it 'Our Five Star Hotel' because that's how it felt after Paul finished. Truly beautiful.

Paul worked with our ideas and more importantly added his incredible imagination and building skills to make our ideas really pop. An example, our chateau ceiling in our living room. Not only did it make the living room truly beautiful, it added functionality. Our literally cold old living room was now warm because the heat stayed in the lower part of the room. Without Paul's skill's and dedication none of this would've happened.

In short, Paul Kowalenko is the closest you'll ever get to hiring Mike Holmes. Honesty, reliability and integrity combined with "Do it right".

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Tara from Calgary

Posted: May 05, 2014

Relocate Laundry Room to Upper Floor

Great family to work with. Very polite and job was finished as promised. Always left site clean.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Christine from Calgary

Posted: Mar 12, 2014

Water Damage Fix & Repair: Bedroom, Living Room, Sunroom and Laminate Flooring

I was greatly impressed and am still pleased with the workmanship of Paul and team from Blackstone Renovations. I'd had some water issues in my condo and had already had one contractor in before with disappointing results. When the Blackstone team arrived, the professionalism, work ethic, team cohesiveness and quality of work was evident from the start and I was very comfortable with them in my home and the work they were doing. What a difference the right company makes! It's been almost 2 years and I'm as happy and dry as ever. I wouldn't hesitate to use Blackstone again and would definitely recommend them to my family and friends.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Jim from Calgary

Posted: Jan 30, 2014

Attaching Hard Wood to Outside Walls for Siding

Blackstone was able to come in at short notice to remove all the old backing for the house siding and replace it with plywood needed to attach the Stonetile siding. Paul did this in a very professional manner, in a timely manner and held to the budget. It was a pleasure to do work with him

Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 4 out of 5

Communication: 4 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Chuck from Calgary

Posted: Jan 28, 2014

15 Apartment Suites

Blackstone was fantastic...timely, courteous and efficient. I'd work with them again anytime!

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Joan from Calgary

Posted: Jan 23, 2014

Outside Work on Condo Complex in SE Calgary. Painting of Cedar and Replacement of Window Trim to Smar Board Material

All of Blackstone workers were very helpful in answering questions from unit owners and the board. Paul from Blackstone spent more hours with the president of the board and was very helpful in his explanation and very concerned about our complex and how we could move forward with changes. Excellent group of people and a family business.

Rating: 4.8 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 4 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Tanya from Calgary

Posted: Dec 12, 2013

Basement Suite, Roofing and Interior Work

Paul and his team from Blackstone are fantastic. The quality of work and level of knowledge is phenomenal. If you are a person you values honesty and quality work this team is for you.

Rating: 4.7 out of 5

Quality of Work: 4 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 4 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Michael from Calgary

Posted: Feb 23, 2013

Removing Asbestos Tiling and Wall Panelling and Bathroom Renovation

Our experience with Paul has been excellent in a number ways.

Because our house was older, and had a lot of unique (one off) systems and features in it, Paul did an excellent job in doing the research and background to come up with the best solutions for correcting the things we wanted to change. Whether it was finding the best approach to removing asbestos tiling and wall panels in the furnace room, or ways to incorporate a shower in a bathroom while preserving the original architect's plans, we always felt confident that Paul was looking out for our best interests.

In addition, Paul and his team were very present in terms of getting the work done, and we never felt that there would be any surprises coming up ahead in terms of work slippage - as soon as anything would happen that would potentially impact the work, Paul would be the first to bring it to our attention and offer options to make it work.

No matter what else was going on, we felt that Paul was keeping our interests and the project top of mind. I have no hesitation in recommending you contact him for your next renovation project.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Mike & Cathy from Taber

Posted: Feb 14, 2013

We are very happy with both the service and the work done by Blackstone Renovations. The quality of their work is excellent, and we would be confident to recommend them.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Cheryl from Three Hills

Posted: Feb 14, 2013

Blackstone Renovations met and exceeded our every expectation. They do fantastic work and they do it in a timely fashion. They are very friendly and they made the chore of home renovations into a great experience. The finished product is quality workman ship and always what we had pictured and requested. We would definitely have them to come and do any job in our home again and highly recommend them to home owners anywhere.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Fahn from Calgary

Posted: Feb 11, 2013

Blackstone took care of all the communication with the condo board. They argued for us that the work needed to be done was a result of common area construction and provided drawings and reports on our behalf. The finished product turned out better than we had pictured. Blackstone was completely worthy of our trust and we had no problem handing over a key to our home.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Quality of Work: 5 out of 5

Timeliness: 5 out of 5

Cleanliness: 5 out of 5

Budget: 5 out of 5

Communication: 5 out of 5

Courteous: 5 out of 5

Horia from Calgary

Posted: Feb 08, 2013

Blackstone Homes (Renovations) did an excellent job, used high quality materials and came up with really good suggestios for our renovation project. They did the roofing for us, we are very happy with the work done and we are planning some other projects. We kindly reccomend them for renovations.

Please click on this link to check out all of Blackstone's customer reviews, vetted through a third party contractor rating directory​:

0